THE ADVENTURES OF ALIU 4

MAXdrive
2 min readMay 16, 2022

--

My name is Aliu. I am 24 years old. I come from Kafanchan, Katsina. My village is very far from where I am currently. I ran away from my village in 2018 after bandits killed my father, and started terrorising the community.

This is my story; Catch up on the previous episode here.

In today’s edition…

I have collected my new okada from MAX. I am now a certified MAX rider and I have all my driving papers with me. You can call me the MAX Avenger.

Today, I will start my okada riding business. Yusuf also is starting today.

When we got our motorcycles yesterday, our big brother, Waheed, bought masa, and then we celebrated and prayed over both okadas. He said “make we see better money, make better customers dey come our side, insha’Allah”.

Today is Tuesday. Yusuf and I left our shed at Bere by 7:30 am. We gave each other fist bumps and parted ways. I decided to go towards Yemetu and Agodi Gate while Yusuf went towards Challenge and Ringroad.

I said a quick prayer as I accelerated my bike “Allah, bring better customers”

A lady in a dark blue top, dressed for the office signals for me to slow down and stop at Bovas, Yemetu. She smiles at me.

She goes on to say ‘ Oga, I like your okada”

I reply “ Thank you, Ma. Where you dey go?”

“I am going to Agodi gate. Not Agodi gate gate o. Na Agodi Secretariat I dey go. For Governor’s office side.”

Na 200 be your money

“Ah! I no get 200. For this kain early morning. Oga, you too like money. Na 150 I go pay o.”

She proceeds to climb my okada.

As we drove off, I smiled inwardly. The day is off to a great start. The average fare for her distance is 100 naira. So, I made an extra 50 naira.

Hopefully, I make enough money today. It’s like my fine yellow motorcycle is attracting rich customers ooo. My black on black outfit must be adding to it also.

I wonder how Yusuf is doing. Has he gotten his first rider?

Let’s paint Ibadan yellow!

--

--

MAXdrive

Making Mobility Safe, Affordable, Accessible & Sustainable Through Deployment of High-Performance Technology & Operators